Thread: Free Kick OB
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 12, 2023, 08:30am
phansen phansen is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 125
Free Kick OB

Free Kick bounces twice at R's 10 and 5 yard line in bounds before taking a big bounce on its way out of bounds at the 3 yard line. After the second bounce inbounds, R1 jumps, secures the ball while in the air and lands out of bounds with both feet at the 3 yard line.
Looking for both High school and College ruling. This is what I found so far:


This is what I found for high school:
SITUATION 3 (9.6.2): K1 free-kicks the ball toward the sideline. R1 runs to a sideline and intentionally steps out of bounds. While R1 is still out of bounds, he intentionally touches the ball as it nears the sideline. The ball is declared dead by the covering official. RULING: Illegal participation by R1. This is not a kick out of bounds as the ball was touched by an R player and the ball became dead when it was touched. (4-3-1; 6-1-8)


2-27-15. NCAA. This is almost exact situation.
IV. Free kick at the A-35. B17 leaps from inbounds and is the first player to touch Team A's free kick when he grasps the ball while airborne. He then lands out of bounds with the ball in his control. RULING: Not a foul for free kick out of bounds. B17 is inbounds when he touches the kick. Team B will have the ball at the yard line where B17 crossed the sideline (Rule 2-27-15). [Cited by 6-2-2]
Reply With Quote