Thread: Traveling
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2001, 10:23am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: A little twist on the subject

Quote:
Originally posted by glind
First of all it is a travel and you guys (co2ice and BktBallRef) do agree and I have the same rule 4:43.5a.

Now the twist!
If the player has one foot on the floor and one knee and then recovers the ball, can she get up?

I say no because of rule 4:43.5b but I called it and my partner and the coach both thought I was wrong because she had her pivot "FOOT" I didn't no which rule it was and I have not seen these guys since, now that I know which rule. I was right, wasn't I?

One more thing can she start her dribble and get off the floor?
glind,
Good call. The player may not merely stand in High School (but may stand in College). And yes, she may start a dribble and get up from one or two knees, from her stomach, from her back and rise after recovering a ball.
Now, if she was recovering her own fumble after a dribble, we know that changes the whole scenario of starting another dribble.
mick
Reply With Quote