View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 09, 2023, 07:19am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
Smith is the starting right fielder batting ninth. In the second inning, Jones pinch-hits for Smith and remains in the game on defense. In the fourth inning Russell enters the game defensively for Jones. Is Smith still allowed to re-enter the game as he was the starter?

Rule references are appreciated.
Assuming NFHS, yes. Any starter is allowed to reenter, as long as it's the same spot in the batting order. Doesn't matter how many substitutes have beenin that position in the interim.
Reply With Quote