View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 12:19pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,064
Quote:
Originally posted by RefJeff
Basketball Fundamental # 6 to be exact. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

Definition 4-44-5b After gaining possession on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

Situation: Player A1 dives for and gains possession of the ball. While on the floor, A1 begins to dribble and then proceeds to get up.

How would you rule on this?
4-44-5b actually only applies while holding the ball....

ART. 5 . . . A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
b. After gaining possession while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

If they start a dribble, this no longer applies.
Reply With Quote