Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws. However, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation. The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2. The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free throw with players in lane line spaces and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)
2.10.1 SITUATION D: A1 is fouled. Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds. The foul was Team B’s seventh team foul and A1 should have been awarded a one and one bonus. Team A scores on the ensuing throw-in. As the ball passes through the net, the officials are informed of the error. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe. Count the goal by A; A1 will be awarded the bonus with no players along the lane lines. There has been a change of possession and the point of interruption is the goal by Team A, therefore Team B will be awarded a throw-in anywhere along the end line. (2-10-1a; 2-10-5)
|
In 2.10.1 Sit A, the error occurs when the ball remains live after A1's first free throw. As stated, B4 rebounds; that's (the first) possession. When the ball becomes dead at mid-court, Team B still has possession. Therefore, no change in possession and B's ball for an A/P throw-in, after the FT attempt.
In 2.10.1 Sit D., the error occurs when the ball is at the disposal of Team A for the throw-in, that's (the first) team possession. Once the team A player releases the ball on a try for goal, at that moment there is a
change in possession. In other words, Team A is no longer in (team) control of the ball. Therefore, POI & Team B's throw-in anywhere along the end line after the FT attempt.
In 2.10. Sit F(b), the change in possession occurs when the held ball is signalled because the arrow is pointed toward Team B.