View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 26, 2022, 03:00pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,410
Alexander Hamilton Versus Aaron Burr ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A try that has ended is merely a thrown ball. If that can be ruled only worth two points by the NFHS, so can a pass because a pass is merely a ball thrown to another player.
Yeah. I see your point. I also looked at the definition of a pass, specifically how a pass ends (not as well defined by the NFHS as a try ending).

4-31: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

I still say that the deflected pass situation is, at best, unclear, and I would definitely not bet my house that I am correct below.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If a pass hits another player on the head and goes in (based on 5.2.1 SITUATION C), I'm probably counting it as two points or three points depending on offensive or defensive players, either inside or outside the three point arc.
I contend that we have "somewhat" dueling casebook plays.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.41.4 Situation B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)

5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area.
Even the IAABO "Gang of Four" co-international-interpreters, interpreters for 15,000 officials, a very astute group of highly experienced, rule-knowledgeable officials, seemed flummoxed, uncertain, unsure, and "wishy washy" explaining their deflected pass play interpretation ruling of three points, seemingly contradicting their own (three point) ruling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...njA0tUOaZD.mp4

IAABO International Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a three point goal. In this play, three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown by A1 from behind the three-point line. A ball that is thrown into a team's own goal from behind the three-point arc scores three points, regardless of whether the thrown ball was an actual try for goal. (Casebook 5.2.1 Situation C) ... It should be further noted that there is another scenario in the NFHS casebook that would be handled differently than what is outlined in the play above. 4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1) So in a case when it is obvious that a try was unsuccessful that gets deflected into the basket, under NFHS rules, it would be considered a 2-point goal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 26, 2022 at 07:03pm.
Reply With Quote