View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2022, 09:01am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Wrong ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
The ruling as described in (a) is wrong, because a team control foul is a common foul committed by the team in control of the ball. Because throwing an opponent to the floor is an act that rises above the level of a common foul, the intentional (or flagrant) foul penalty will supersede the common foul penalty and allow B4 to attempt free throws followed by possession for Team B.
I agree with you 99.9% that ruling (a) is "wrong".

But technically, ruling (a) isn't "wrong". The (a) ruling states that situation (a) is "illegal", which it most certainly is.

If ruling (a) is "wrong", it's "wrong" because, in combination with ruling (b), ruling (a) is confusing, misleading, incomplete, and ambiguous, but it's not "wrong" because situation (a) is indeed "illegal"

Thank God the caseplay has been changed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
In 22-23, the ruling has been changed to "In (a) and (b), intentional foul due to excessive contact while the ball is live.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 28, 2022 at 09:31am.
Reply With Quote