View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2022, 02:03pm
ilyazhito ilyazhito is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
FIRST FOUR -- DAYTON, OH

Tuesday, 3/15/2022
(12) Wyoming vs. (12) Indiana -- Roger Ayers, Nate Harris, Vladimir Voyard-Tadal

Second half: 17:47 to 17:37 remaining. Indiana #0 drives to the basket and scores. While backing away after scoring, he bumps into his teammate #25 and they both fall to the floor on the end line near the Indiana bench. #0 is able to quickly return to his feet and run back to play defense. #25 is a bit slow to get up and substitute #53 leaves the bench and comes several feet onto the court (both of his feet are inbounds as well as inside the three-point area of the court) in an apparent effort to help his teammate get up and return to a defensive position more quickly. He actually does not assist his teammate as #25 is able to rise and begin to move on his own just before #53 reaches his location.

I found this to be an unusual play and worthy of discussion.
Should the action described above be a technical foul on #53?
What if he did help his teammate back to his feet? Would that make anyone more likely to penalize this?
No call was made by the officials working the contest.
Raymond is right. The non-player entering the game without permission should be addressed. Assuming there is no imminent scoring opportunity, the game will be stopped and Indiana #53 will be assessed a Class B technical foul for entering the court without permission.

At the NCAA level, especially in the postseason, players should be aware of what is allowed and not. This is different from a middle schooler running onto the court from the bench without reporting, because the middle schooler probably does not know the rules. I cannot cut the same amount of slack to a college player. While his intentions are understandable (aid the injured player), his intervention on the court could interfere with the game. Thus, the technical foul must be assessed.
Reply With Quote