Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Goodwin
Are we "retroactively" disqualifying A4 ...
|
The phrase retroactive disqualification seems so severe and harsh (though factually true).
Let's calm down the emotions by changing the original situation.
Let's say that the question of the mistaken rule, or misapplication of the rule, comes to the attention (because at least one of them thought "Hmmm") of the officials as they are reporting the unsporting technical foul.
Still too late to change the team technical foul to a bench (and offender) technical foul?
Even less emotion (below), no disqualification.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
A4 dunks during the pregame. The officials observe this and assess a team technical foul along with an indirect to the HC. For the first half, A4 is neither charged with any additional technical fouls nor any personal fouls. At halftime the crew looks in the rulebook and sees that the technical for the pregame dunk should have been charged to A4 as a bench technical foul. What does the referee do coming out after halftime in this "low emotion, low impact" situation?
|
Also, we do have a retroactive disqualifications when the scorekeeper fails to inform the officials of a fifth team member foul, and later communicates such to the officials.