View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 09, 2022, 09:40pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mingram View Post
NCAA rules. Team A inbounds under team B's basket. The throw goes long but not before a team A player tips it in the front court. The balls goes to the back court where a team A player retrieves it. Official calls a tipped ball, no backcourt violation. Did he get it wrong or does team A first have to establish themselves in the front court (two feet and the ball)?
Subsequent a throw-in (or jump ball/free throw/ try for goal), there must be player control somewhere on the court before any of the other elements of a back court violation are considered. Since the initial establishment of player control was in the back court, everything starts from that point.

This applies to high school and college.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Feb 09, 2022 at 09:43pm.
Reply With Quote