View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2022, 10:47am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Automatic Travel ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Then you should look at the rule book too when jump into these discussions because you should be responding with a rules citation.
The interpretation was wrong when I first read it. The interpretation was confirmed wrong when I looked it up in the rulebook.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I disagree. 4-44-3-C: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble. 4-44-4-B After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot: Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
I was going after the "king", so had to be 100% certain.

Turns out that while the interpretation (explanation) is poorly worded, there is some possibility that an automatic "call" of a travel may be (sometimes) incorrect because of the loophole.

I may just let sleeping dogs lie.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 31, 2022 at 02:23pm.
Reply With Quote