View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 14, 2022, 09:12pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
End of Arizona womens' game ball hit a referee after being touched by the inbounders defender. Nothing done wrong only .5 seconds left on the clock when touch happed game is over before contact with official happens. If you want to see play and haven't:

https://twitter.com/ArizonaWBB/statu...098493953?s=20

Now it did get me thinking. If players are where they were until they get there their going, but officials are part of equipment/floor when ball contacts them. When are we inbounds and out of bounds?

Obviously I'm out of bounds when ball touches me then its out.
If I'm on the playing court I'm inbounds play on.

1) If I'm straddling the line and its hits my foot or body that's inbounds because the rest of me is out of bounds I think I'm still equipment that's out of bounds so whistle play down?

2) If I was straddling line and ball comes towards so I jump (imagine if I could still jump) to avoid the ball but it hits me anyway. Am I inbounds? Out of bounds? Does which foot left the floor first matter?
1. If any part of a person is touching out of bounds, then the entire person is out of bounds by rule. So, yes, this would require a whistle for an OOB violation.

2. Excellent question! If you jump with both feet simultaneously, you would be consider out of bounds while airborne because you were out of bounds when last in contact with the floor. Same for if you lift your inbounds foot first. However, you correctly posited that if you clearly lift your OOB foot first, you give yourself inbounds status and would retain that status while airborne.
Reply With Quote