No Stupid Questions ???
Stupid question based on rule language, not purpose and intent.
In held ball situation, when opposing players are both holding the ball, do both players have player control? They're both holding the ball, right?
4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. There is no player control when, during a jump ball, a jumper catches the ball prior to the ball touching the floor or a non-jumper, or during an interrupted dribble.
4-25-1: A held ball occurs when: Opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness.
If both players don't have player control, is it because of this phrase: Control cannot be obtained, meaning it hasn't been obtained, or it's been lost?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 11, 2022 at 10:29am.
|