Always Listen To bob ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
2004-05 Interps SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position. B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has (a) one foot touching the sideline ... RULING: In (a), B1 is called for a blocking foul because a player may not be out of bounds and obtain or maintain legal guarding position.
|
Wow! Great research. An interpretation that "disappeared" almost a dozen and a half years ago. Fooled Nevadaref (the "Interpretation King"), Camron Rust, and later me, after reading their posts. Impressive. Thanks.
4-23-1: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
I do recall videos of late game set plays where inbounders run the end line and defenders run over screeners where the screeners have a foot on the endline, and are called for blocking fouls, even though stationary and facing the opponent. Of course, since the rule changed and we no longer shoot team control fouls, we will seldom see this late game set play anymore, and that's a good thing.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 26, 2021 at 11:49am.
|