Very Interesting ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1’s hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.
|
Interesting that the player is said to touch the ball after it bounces. Many Forum members (I have agreed for a written exam) have discussed that one doesn't have to wait for the touch, but if one deems it the start of a dribble, then it's the start of a dribble, and if one deems it the start of a bounce pass, then it's the start of a bounce pass, as a literal interpretation of the rules.
Wonder why the NFHS specifically stated "touches it first after it bounces"?
Is it possible that the NFHS wants us to wait for a touch to insure that this is not the start of a legal bounce pass?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Dec 19, 2021 at 04:15pm.
|