View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2021, 12:28pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Pulls Shirt Out IAABO Exam Answer ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
23) A-1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B-1. As A-1 goes to the free throw line, he pulls his shirt out. A-1 does not correct his uniform. The officials allow A-1 to shoot the free throws with no one along the lane and then direct him to leave the game. Are the officials correct?

3.3.5 Situation A: B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-and-one, the official observes: (a) A1 pull the jersey out of his/her pants; or (b) A1’s pants being worn below the hips. Ruling: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the jersey in the pants or pull up the pants, and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared for the free throw and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful. Comment: A charged time-out by Team A does not alter the requirement for A1 to leave the game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
It's another stupidly written question where semantics are being discussed instead of the actual teaching point.
IAABO says that the official is correct and uses the casebook play 3.3.5 Situation A as the citation. I should have just kept it simple and followed the interpretation of the casebook play instead of trying to fight city hall. After taking these IAABO Refresher Exams for over forty years, I should have known better.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 03, 2021 at 02:36pm.
Reply With Quote