View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2021, 11:16am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,344
IAABO Exam - Bookkeeping Mistake ...

Attended a local IAABO Refresher Exam study group a few nights ago. We had about a dozen guys, some of whom are very good "rules guys". We didn't have an answer sheet. We disagreed on a few answers, even after taking deep dives into the rulebook and casebook.

50) A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the Referee approves the final score. Is this correct?

2-11-11: A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score.


I say that the question statement was incorrect (although I answered correct based on 2-11-11's exact wording).

2-2-4: The jurisdiction of the officials is terminated and the final score has been approved when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area.

After the horn to end the game sounds, the referee looks to the table to approve the final score, usually with a nod and a wave. After such approval, the officials start heading out of the gym. Until they leave the visual confines of the playing area, they can still be summoned back to deal with a bookkeeping error, which can still, at that time, be corrected.

Thus, a bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the officials leave the visual confines of the playing area.

What say you?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 07, 2021 at 11:31am.
Reply With Quote