IAABO Exam - Pulls Shirt Out ...
Attended a local IAABO Refresher Exam study group a few nights ago. We had about a dozen guys, some of whom are very good "rules guys". We didn't have an answer sheet. We disagreed on a few answers, even after taking deep dives into the rulebook and casebook.
23) A-1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B-1. As A-1 goes to the free throw line, he pulls his shirt out. A-1 does not correct his uniform. The officials allow A-1 to shoot the free throws with no one along the lane and then direct him to leave the game. Are the officials correct?
3.3.5 Situation A: B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-and-one, the official observes: (a) A1 pull the jersey out of his/her pants; or (b) A1’s pants being worn below the hips. Ruling: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the jersey in the pants or pull up the pants, and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared for the free throw and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful. Comment: A charged time-out by Team A does not alter the requirement for A1 to leave the game.
I say that the official was incorrect. 3.3.5 Situation A implies that A1 will only shoot after he puts the jersey in his pants. In the question A-1 does not correct his uniform.
What say you?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
|