You Are Where You Are Until You Get Where You're Going ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
A1 is out of bounds along the sideline of the frontcourt to execute a throw-in. He passes the ball in to A2. A1 now reaches out and puts a hand on defender B1 who is standing inbounds near the sideline. A2 is trapped by defenders B2 and B3, so he quickly passes the ball back to A1. Under your concept, no violation would occur and play would continue because A1 would be considered inbounds.
|
Nice, well thought out situation. I see the conflict.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
...but a player is located where he is touching the court, and has nothing to do with contacting another player.
|
You are where you are until you get where you're going.
Agree, but 2009-10 NFHS Interpretation SITUATION 1 seems to say otherwise.
Of course we still have the age old question: Is a nine year old annual interpretation, that never made it's way in to the casebook, with no relevant rule changes, still valid?
How is a young'un with only eight years of basketball officiating experience supposed to know this?
Stupid NFHS.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jul 31, 2021 at 09:32am.
|