IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...%2F77o5w%3D%3D
IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This should have been ruled a Player Control Foul.
Defender White #4 obtains a legal guarding position by placing his body in the path of the ball handler and having two feet on the playing court, and facing his opponent. (4-23-11, 4-23-2) Since the defender obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball must get their head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player. If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is responsible for the contact. (4-7-2b)
In this play, the ball handler contacts the defender in the right shoulder area and displaces him before attempting a try for goal. Since the ball handler failed to get head a shoulder past the defender, the shooter is responsible for the contact. 88% of respondents were correct to agree that a player control foul should have been ruled on this play.
Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This should have been ruled a Player Control Foul 88% (including me). This is correctly ruled a blocking foul 12%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
|