IAABO Survey Says …
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...PaebGPAFjS.mp4
IAABO Play Commentary
Correct Answer: This should have been ruled a pushing foul.
This is a foul on White #12. The contact caused by a defensive player who approaches from behind is considered pushing. (10-7-6) This contact by White #12 knocks her opponent (Orange #11) to the floor. Officials should not ignore this contact just because the ball was knocked out of bounds by the defense. The foul occurred well in advance of the out-of-bounds violation and should be charged.
There are times when players are in equally favorable positions; contact such as this can be ruled incidental. This is not one of those cases as Orange #11 had the more favorable position, and White #12 pushed her opponent to get access to the ball. In a play such as this, officials will hear the complaint, "she was just going for the ball!" While the statement is true, going for the ball does not impact whether or not contact is illegal (10-7) or incidental. (4-27)
You will notice, we moved the Trail official up the sideline to administer throw-in. While the use of the bounce pass is acceptable, it needs to be done strategically to get the best view of the players. This Trail is much too far away at the outset of the play.
While not seen on this video, The Center official plays a key role in this play situation. In transition, during backcourt throw-ins and pressure situations, the Center must assist Trail and Lead as the Center frequently has the best position to observe play. This may require the Center to make rulings from across the court. When a foul is called, the Center should move briskly to the location of foul or violation. (IAABO Manual p. 154)
This play is an excellent example of an area we officials need to make a significant improvement. Far too often, contact such as this is ruled incidental.
Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This should have been ruled a pushing foul 80% (including me). This is properly ruled incidental contact 20%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 18, 2021 at 10:16am.
|