Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  bob jenkins
					 
				 
				It might (would) depend on why you said it was legal. "The ball was below the height of the net" -- sure, don't let the coach come over. 
 
"It wasn't a third hit and the player didn't mean to hit it over so it can't be an attack" -- sure, the coach gets to come over. 
 
And, yes, it's a little convoluted given the specific example given.  But, the point is accurate. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 But intent of the back row player doesn't matter. Only ball position relative to the height of the net and player position relative to the attack line matter. If a back row player didn't mean to attack but she attacked according to the rules then it is still an attack.