View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2021, 10:04am
BillyMac BillyMac is online now
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,391
IAABO Survey Says …

Disclaimer: Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...Cim0tKyQ%3D%3D

IAABO Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a backcourt violation.

This is an interesting play that comes down to understanding the rules regarding ball location and player status.

A few respondents ruled this a legal play because the ball handler never dribbled the ball in the frontcourt and therefore ruled frontcourt status was never achieved. This is an interesting point, but this provision only applies if the ball handler continues the dribble across the division line. Because the ball handler ended the dribble, this provision is not a factor on this play. (4-4-6)

Once the dribble ended, the player had two feet in the frontcourt, and therefore the player and the ball now have frontcourt status. (4-4-2) When the ball handler handed the ball to a teammate with backcourt status, a backcourt violation was committed. (9-9-1)

Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is not a backcourt violation 47%. This is a backcourt violation 44% (including me). Too close to make a ruling; play on 9%.!
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote