A Lost Teachable Moment ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
... the throw-in team will retain the privilege of moving along the endline on the ensuing throw-in after the warning has been issued. A team retains this privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus rule is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line ...
|
Surprised and disappointed that the IAABO International "Gang of Four" didn't address the issue of where to administer the throwin subsequent to the delay plane violation; nearest the violation, or at the original throw-in spot.
This makes for a good discussion because the inbounder appears to want the ball at the original throwin spot but the official moves her to administer at the spot nearest the violation.
She can move wherever she wants along the endline, but the question is where to administer (with IAABO mechanics one is not supposed to bounce the ball across the lane to administer a throwin). We have to hand her, or bounce her, the ball from somewhere (we can't be running along the endline with her).
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
... no need to switch sides for the next throw-in.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
9-2-Penalty: The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.
|
Reminds me of a earlier Forum discussion we had regarding where to administer a run the endline throwin after a timeout where the inbounder wants the ball at a location that is different from the location before the timeout.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 17, 2021 at 08:37am.
|