Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Simonds
B11 remained a player during the dead-ball period. It would have been a penalty if B11 was replaced by another player and then he re-entered the field as a substitute during the same dead-ball period.
Read rule 2-30-1 and rule 3-7-4 and case play 3.7.2.
|
I would rule B11 as a replaced player creating a player vacancy once B11 crossed the sideline. A replaced player cannot become a substitute durng the same dead ball period.
That said, technically, a substitution infraction has occurred according to NFHS Rules. Strict enforcement of this rule has to be classified as overly officious. Use preventative officiating to count players and monitor player movement.
|
A replaced player is "one who has been notified by a substitute that he is to leave the field. A player is also replaced when the entering substitute becomes a player (2-30-12)." Based on this definition, I would say the the player from the original question never became a replaced player since he was never notified by a sub that he is to leave (i.e. leaving the field does not in and of itself turn a "player" into a "replaced player"). Therefore, I still believe this is not a foul.