I originally didn't want to post this video on the Forum because I didn't think it was a tough situation. That is until I later received the IAABO International Play Commentary.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...iRSEmfgrXG.mp4
IAABO International only gives two choices: backcourt violation, or legal play.
Here’s my comment: Backcourt violation. The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.
Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
IAABO International Play Commentary:
Correct Answer: This is a backcourt violation.
This is a challenging play! The most important aspect of our education and training programs is that regardless of how we feel about a clip, we must understand the rules involved to make an accurate ruling.
In this play, the player in blue (who would be considered a defensive player) secures the ball and near the division line and ends up stepping into the backcourt with the ball. The question is, did she commit a backcourt violation?
There are three important exceptions to the backcourt rule as outlined by rule 9-9-3, and all deal with airborne players securing control of the ball and then ending up in the backcourt. The rule is stated as follows” During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing, and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.”
In this play, the defensive player in blue secures control of the ball, and her first step with her left foot is in her frontcourt, and the next step with her right foot is in her backcourt. To adjudicate this play properly, officials would have to determine if the player was airborne when she secured the ball. If she was, the backcourt exception applies, and this would be a legal play. However, if her left foot were in contact with the floor when control was established, this would be a backcourt violation.
In playing this clip at game speed, it is incredibly difficult to be 100% certain if she was airborne or not when control was established. We have an old adage in officiating, “if you are not sure, don’t call it!” From that perspective, these officials were correct in allowing play to continue. Possessions are precious in our game, and officials should get in the habit of 100% certain an infraction has occurred before ruling a violation and taking a possession away from a team. Watching the clip over and over at game speed, it certainly looks like the player has her left foot on the floor when securing control, which would make this a violation, as 63% percent of the respondents have indicated on this clip.
But, by the power of technology and moving this clip frame by frame, it appears this player is just slightly off the court when she initially secures control of the ball, which makes the subsequent action a legal play. Regardless of what you think the ruling should be on this play, be sure to understand the rules involved as the basis to make an accurate ruling. Remember to be 100% sure an infraction has occurred before taking a possession away from a team. If after a game is complete and you have to watch the game film and go frame by frame to prove yourself correct, were you really 100% sure a violation occurred? Food for thought.
Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video (only two choices): Backcourt: 62% (including me); Legal: 38%.