View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2021, 03:18pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
IAABO International Play Commentary ...

Disclaimer: For IAABO Eyes Only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...hyLSEPdsvO.mp4

IAABO International Play Commentary: This is a Blocking Foul. This is an interesting play with numerous teaching points. As the play develops, the defender (Red #2) is initially focused on the ball handler driving to the basket. As the ball handler ends his dribble and throws an "alley-oop" pass (off the backboard) to a teammate, the defender now finds himself in the path of an airborne player attempting to catch the ball and attempt a try for goal.

Did Red #2 ever obtain a legal guarding position (LGP) on the airborne player attempting the try? No. The front of the defender's torso never faced the opponent, and therefore LGP was never obtained. (4-23-2b)

Does this mean the defender will automatically be responsible for the contact? No. Officials should be reminded that every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. (4-23-1, 4-37-3) It should be further noted, the player in red could also be considered in a legal rebounding position. Obtaining a legal rebounding position is similar to obtaining a legal guarding position, with one notable exception. There is no requirement to face their opponent to obtain a legal rebounding position. (4-37-2) Even though the defender never obtained LGP, his initial position in the lane was legal.

Had the defender maintained this position throughout the play, the shooter would have been responsible for the contact that occurred. However, it appears the defender moves slightly to a new position after the opponent became airborne, resulting in the defender being responsible for the contact. Due to this movement under an airborne player, the Lead official correctly ruled a blocking foul on this play.

Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: Blocking Foul: 58%; Incidental Contact: 23% (including me); Player Control: 19%
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 28, 2021 at 04:59pm.
Reply With Quote