View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2021, 11:30am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,335
For IAABO Eyes Only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
Disclaimer: Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

IAABO International Play Commentary
The house lights go down and red lights turn on for a few seconds before the ending of Little Rock's game at Louisiana. After the Trojans' last-second 3-pointer is no good, coach Darrell Walker is livid at the officials.

IAABO International Correct Answer: The officials should have stopped the game and re-administered the play from the point of interruption. This is certainly a challenging play for officials. Officials should be aware; they have the authority to stop the game whenever unusual circumstances present themselves, especially if there is a safety concern. (Rule 5-8-2d) At times, officials may ignore some circumstances (such as an inadvertent horn) and allow play to continue if it has no impact on play. (Casebook 2.11.3). Unusual circumstances often lead to the referee to need to make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules. (Rule 2-3) In this situation, because of the time left in the game when the incident occurred, the best course of action would be for officials is to stop play immediately when the lights became an issue. When situations like this occur, officials should be quick to note the time remaining on the clock when play was stopped and identify where the throw-in spot should be when play resumes. In this situation, 5 seconds should be placed on the clock, and play should be resumed on the sideline in front of the scorer's table.

Note: About 80% of IAABO members that commented on the video thought that the officials should have stopped the game and re-administered the play from the point of interruption.

5-8-2-D: Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, must be stopped when an official: Stops play: For any other situations or any emergency.

2.11.3 Situation: When may the scorer signal? Ruling: If the scorer desires to call attention to a player who is illegally in the game, he/she may signal the official when the ball is in control of that player’s team. If it is for a substitution, the scorer may signal when the ball next becomes dead and the clock is stopped. If it is for conferring with an official, he/she may signal when the ball is dead. If the scorer signals while the ball is live, the official should ignore the signal if a scoring play is in progress. Otherwise, the official may stop play to determine the reason for the scorer’s signal.

2-3: The referee must make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules.


Personal note: I'm interpreting this to mean that the officials should not have re-administered the play after the game had "ended", but rather they should have whistled to stop the game when the lights went out. Since they didn't do anything at five seconds, it was too late to do anything at zero (horn and light) seconds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 12, 2021 at 03:31pm.
Reply With Quote