Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
We can always wait for the play to end to call a technical foul. As a matter of fact this was talked about in the NCAA meeting specifically if I recall. I have no issues with a T being given after the player is over. I think otherwise is not usually normal practice. Let the play finish and call the T. Not stopping play just to call a T when this play had not ended. And that used to be in the NF casebook as well. Not sure what the hurry is other than to split hairs so we can enforce other rules.
Peace
|
The case play you refer to is where calling the T would take a way an obvious scoring opportunity. That isn't applicable here. Call the game as it happens, not manipulate it unnecessarily just to make it easier. The T occurred during a live ball not in team control, call it as such. It isn't that difficult.