Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
SITUATION 3: A1, who is dribbling the ball, is intentionally fouled as the signal to end the third quarter sounds. The official administers the free throws as a part of the third quarter and starts the fourth quarter by awarding the throw-in at the spot nearest the spot of the intentional foul. Team B has the possession arrow. RULING: The official correctly administered the free throws as a part of the third quarter. The team will not get the benefit of throw-in at the division line because the quarter ended. No penalty or part of a penalty should be carried over to the next quarter or extra period except when a correctable error is involved. The fourth quarter should begin with a throw-in by Team B, which has the possession arrow. (4-19-3c; 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3)
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
It's just saying that Team A will not be the team administering throw in at the division line to start the fourth quarter.
|
Yes, the interpretation certainly does take the long way around to eventually say that, which is 100% correct.
It also states that "the official ... starts the fourth quarter by awarding the throw-in at the spot nearest the spot of the intentional foul" which is 100% incorrect (unless the intentional foul was at the division line opposite the table).
It further states "the team will not get the benefit of throw-in at the division line".
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
It is poorly written but it is not incorrect.
|
"Poorly written"? Agree, in spades.
"Not incorrect"? Half right.
Too bad, this would have noble effort at great interpretation of odd things that can occasionally occur very close, or immediately after, a period ends, and how to penalize such, but the NFHS screwed it up.
Stupid NFHS. Doesn't anybody read and edit these before publishing?