View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2020, 04:44pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

9.12 SITUATION B: On the second of two free-throw attempts by A1, the ball is touched outside the cylinder by A2. RULING: No points can be scored. A2s actions are ruled a violation. B will be given the ball for a throw-in from the designated out of bounds spot nearest the violation. (9-1 Penalty 1)[/I]

In 9.12 SITUATION B would A2 also be charged with a technical foul in a high school game? And shouldn't Team B be given the ball for a throwin at the division line opposite the table in a high school game?

Sounds to me like this should be is a technical foul on A2 for offensive goaltending during a free throw.

Is this yet another poor editing job by the NFHS?
Hint: When does the ball become dead when A commits a FT violation? Can a you "goaltend" a dead ball?
Reply With Quote