Thread: Pass hits Rim
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 11:32am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Oversight ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I know of nothing that declares the rim the same as touching the floor. Backboard, sure, but not the rim.
Basketball Rules Fundamentals
19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated
the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches
the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


Rim? An oversight by the NFHS?

Or intentionally and deviously done to drive us all nuts?



It's the NFHS, I think we all know the answer.

On the other hand we occasionally see a passed ball touching the basket net.

Most of us would probably just think, "Play on", not give it a second thought, and certainly never consider it to be a dribble.

So maybe the NFHS was right (I just almost vomited into my own mouth) in having the Rules Fundamental only specify the backboard?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 04, 2020 at 03:05pm.
Reply With Quote