View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2020, 04:19pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Part Of A Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
A1 inbounds the ball to A2 in Team A's BC under heavy, full court pressure. A2 attempts a high, cross-court pass that hits Team B's backboard. The ball rebounds and deflects off A1 (who had stepped inbounds), A3, A4, and A5, before being controlled by A2. A2 dribbles and is called for illegal dribble.
A2 throwing the ball and hitting Team B's backboard is considered to be part of a dribble.

In a real game, and with A2's "passed" ball hitting Team B's backboard (that alone would be surprising), and then the ball ricocheting off of several players, I would have probably forgotten that A2 had already dribbled once.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals
19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated
the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches
the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 01, 2020 at 06:35pm.
Reply With Quote