Thread: rule question
View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2020, 06:55pm
billyu2 billyu2 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I may have to create a new thread or just let this go. Too many are interpreting my case incorrectly. Some are suggesting the ball is released and others are referring to cases that do not apply.

Case: A1 dribbles and then holds the ball, establishing his right foot as the pivot foot. A1 then places the ball on the floor with his right hand never losing contact with the ball. A1 then pushes/scoots/moves/displaces the ball in a controlled fashion, along the floor for ten feet, taking several full steps, and then picks up the ball. In this process, A1 was not dribbling. This would be legal based on this thread and everyone's opinion about the rules. This would also be a case whereby a pivot foot could be moved from one spot on the floor to another and there is no traveling violation.

Now, once A1 picks up the ball, could A1 pivot on his left foot? Ruling?
Bucky, people are not necessarily interpreting the situation incorrectly. Your description doesn't make sense. Even though A1 doesn't lose contact with the ball, once A1 starts pushing/scooting/moving/displacing the ball in a controlled fashion, he is either still holding the ball or he isn't. It can't be both. If he is still holding the ball while taking steps, it is a travel. Since you said he eventually picked up the ball, then the ball had to have been "released" even though he never lost contact. Again, it can't be both. If the ball is not being held, then it has been released. Releasing (by pushing) the ball to the floor (which A1 did) fits the definition of a dribble. Since A1 dribbled prior, IMO A1 has double dribbled.

Last edited by billyu2; Mon Jan 13, 2020 at 06:59pm.
Reply With Quote