Thread: rule question
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2020, 08:50am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I may have to create a new thread or just let this go. Too many are interpreting my case incorrectly. Some are suggesting the ball is released and others are referring to cases that do not apply.

Case: A1 dribbles and then holds the ball, establishing his right foot as the pivot foot. A1 then places the ball on the floor with his right hand never losing contact with the ball. A1 then pushes/scoots/moves/displaces the ball in a controlled fashion, along the floor for ten feet, taking several full steps, and then picks up the ball. In this process, A1 was not dribbling. This would be legal based on this thread and everyone's opinion about the rules. This would also be a case whereby a pivot foot could be moved from one spot on the floor to another and there is no traveling violation.

Now, once A1 picks up the ball, could A1 pivot on his left foot? Ruling?
Since not every possible situation is covered in the rule and case books, I'm applying the spirit of the rule which is illustrated in Billy's case play 4.45.5 Sit B. In your play the player lifted and re-planted his pivot foot while still in possession of the ball. To me your play is no different in theory and application than a player tossing the ball up in the air (not a try/not a fumble) and taking steps with both feet and catching the ball in a new spot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote