Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
While you are correct, that is an awful rule/interpretation. The defensive player has a right to play a ball that is held across the line. They shouldn't be subject to an intentional foul for doing.
|
As you know, the correct foul when the defender contacted the thrower, but did not break the boundary plane used to be a common foul. However, several years ago either Mary Struckhoff or one of her officiating colleagues screwed this up during a game and rather than admit that it was handled incorrectly, she had the NFHS change the rule!