Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Next part, will you ever put time back on the clock if an IW? Pay last Fri night. :33 time. snap, handoff run . whistle is heard 3 seconds into play, bag dropped. Team continues to run and scores an appearant TD. time on clock is now :21. So, explain to coach (get my *** chewed on-not our fault) TD brought back. Coach then claimed that since ball is brought back, time should be put back on. I thought about it and did agree. COuld not find support in any book on this topic.
Thanks
|
No, you do not put time back on the clock.
I don't know who's teaching you guys to let the play continue but they are badly, badly mistaken!!
|
Yes I would put time back on the clock. You made the obvious timing error by not stopping the play. Coach had a legitimate gripe there. He can't be responsible for the lost time if it was your fault for not stopping the play. His team did nothing wrong and yet is being penalized by time run off and no touchdown. It's one or the other here.
|
The play ends when the IW is sounded (although it looks like you really didn't have an IW, but for sake of discussion we'll go with it). The clock also stops when play is ended for an IW (I don't have my rulebook with me or I'd give you the references) so the team in possession can be given their choices (replay the down, or have the down count at the spot when then IW was sounded). If time runs off after the IW it should be put back. Unless a team calls a TO in the interim, the clock always starts on the ready after a IW.