Thread: Delay Warnings
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 09, 2019, 06:43pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,628
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post

I know in NFHS it would count as the team's warning if we had an intentional/technical foul for contacting the thrower/ball.
Not necessarily. Under NFHS rules, the warning would only be issued if the defender actually broke the boundary plane while fouling the thrower or contacting the ball while it is still in the thrower’s hands. It is possible for the thrower to extend his arms through the boundary plane and over the inbounds area of the court prior to releasing the throw-in pass. A foul by the defender under such circumstances would result in an intentional personal foul, but not also a team warning for delay.

There was a case book play or interp a few seasons ago detailing this.
Reply With Quote