View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 02, 2019, 12:39pm
Andy Andy is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
This rule would have come in handy for me recently....

HS Playoff game, I'm PU.

Batter hits a ground ball to F6, fields and throws to first for the out. When the batter dropped the bat after the hit, I thought I heard something when it hit the ground. After the play, I picked up the bat, shook it and heard all kinds of rattling. I called the coach over, showed him the bat, shook it and asked him to put it away and not use it any longer.

Had this rule been in place, no issues. Since I didn't hear any rattling while the player was at bat, I didn't feel justified in applying the illegal bat penalty.
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote