View Single Post
  #86 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 20, 2019, 12:04pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,742
Out Of Bounds Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
I have had that play a few times, where a throw-in goes out of bounds untouched. It is a throw-in violation, because the throw-in is not legally executed
Agree 100%.

A1 inbounds the ball from the endline on a designated spot throwin. The ball passed by thrower A1 first touches player A2 who catches the throwin pass while standing on the out of bounds side of the sideline boundary near the division line.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
It is a throw-in violation (the ball fails to touch a player inbounds other than the thrower-in).
But the rule states "inbounds or out of bounds".

9-2-2: The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court
from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds
or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.


For this reason, I believe it's an out of bounds violation, not a throwin violation. Team B's ball for a designated spot throwin at the sideline boundary near the division line.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jun 20, 2019 at 12:26pm.
Reply With Quote