View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2019, 11:59am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
This is why I like the NCAA rule on obstruction. They have a stipulation that if a runner is more than halfway to the next base when the umpire kills play due to the obstructed runner being put out, she is advanced to that next base. If not, then she is returned to her previous base unless forced.

Not sure why other sanctions don't have similar language in their obstruction rule.
It used to be, it was called "the rule of thumb." I can't remember when it was deleted, but it was there when I started, circa 1995.
Reply With Quote