View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 01:46pm
sm_bbcoach sm_bbcoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Question

down and distance does not matter. But for agument 4/4 B12. A(K) attempts a FG. After the center puts his hands on the ball and players have taken theri place, B realizes there are 12 men on the field,no decption involved by B just confusion for special teams play, and B-47 runs off the field. As he runs, he crosses the NZ on the field in a mad dash to get off the field to his sideline before the snap. By rule this is encrochment 5 yds and in our example give A(K) its 1/G.

Do you call this? Player B-47 is NOT attempting to be part of the play, just get off the field. Seems like a cheap 1st down for HS kids confusion. But it is varsity.... Would you call illg sub if he did not get off the field , but crossed NZ before the snap? For what ever reason, B choose to not call TO thinking th eplayer can get off before the snap.

I know what I would do and what I would say to a coach, but what about you great FB minds?

Flag it or let it go.
Reply With Quote