Thread: Cr
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 01, 2019, 12:37pm
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I agree with your first comment. I'm not so sure about the second one. The pitcher or catcher must "earn" their way on base. Is being the runner on second for the tiebreaker considered "earning" the base? I've never seen a case play that verifies that. The NFHS rule book doesn't cover it since the tiebreaker system is a state option that really doesn't get explained in the book.

Is there a clarification or case play in USA Softball that says a CR may be used at second base under the tiebreaker system?
It has been interpreted and clarified- as "earning" the spot at 2nd; because the non-earning rule was just to avoid pinch hitters, etc. I don't know where or when anymore.
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote