View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 31, 2019, 12:45pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
It's prolly more defendable by rule to say goaltending can still apply after a blocked shot, but the way it's expected to be called at the college level is once a defender blocks or tips the shot attempt and the ball still hits the backboard, it is fair game. Even if another defender comes in and blocks it off the glass, no goaltending. Is that the same expectation in your area Raymond?
I've never considered it to be GT on such a play, but this play and how the TV broadcast reviewed it got me thinking....nothing in the rule says the backboard element goes a way if the defender gets is first. It makes sense when the block goes off the board and back to the blocker's hands. It would be silly to then call that GT. But when a defender tips the ball at the release and the ball clearly continues and has a chance to go it, it would not seem right to allow another independent touch after it hits the glass.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote