View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 25, 2019, 04:23pm
chapmaja chapmaja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
What hasn't been addressed is the basket interference by W44? You can argue that he was grabbing the ring to protect himself, but the ball still had not cleared the net when the ring was grabbed. I'd have a hard time calling basket interference due to the foul. But, what rule defends not calling basket interference?
I don't know that there is a specific ruling on the book that says this isn't goaltending except common sense. I think you open up a real can or worms if you call a goaltend on this play in which the reason for the goaltend was the player attempting to catch himself after a flagrant foul by the defense on the play.

If you thought Izzo's reaction to his player was bad during the game, calling a GT on that play might have gotten Izzo an ejection.
Reply With Quote