Thread: lodged ball
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2019, 02:48pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Why did the following just come to mind. Runner at second is stealing. The pitched ball somehow lodges in the catchers uniform or equipment. The coach, not realizing where the ball is sends the runner home. The catcher, realizing the can't get the ball out decides to jump on top of the runner sliding into the plate to "tag" the runner. The call is obvious but it would be the other circumstances that would be a problem. Now if she dives as she is pulling the ball out of the uniform we have an even messier situation.

If I ever see this I am quitting by the way.
Well, considering that a legal tag of a runner can only take place with the ball in the fielder's glove or hand, then jumping on top of a runner with the ball under her jersey would not constitute a tag.

The real interesting question is, Would the catcher be guilty of obstruction? Is the ball inside of fielder's equipment or uniform considered "possession"? Remember that in NFHS, a pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle even if the ball is not in her hand or glove. For example, there's a case play where the pitcher tucks the ball under her chin while fixing her hair, and the ruling is that she still has the ball in her possession. So would the same be true here? Hmmm...
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote