View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 06:36pm
RKBUmp RKBUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Please read the red portion of R2-S1-A10 above, it says "she is considered to have touched the base unless an appeal has been made". The successful Appeal means that B1 was put out before touching 1B. Therefore let us go to R6-S1-A1, PENALTY, EXCEPTION 1 which says: "If the batter reaches first base safely and each other runner advances at least one base, the illegal pitch is nullified. All action stands and the illegal pitch is canceled." B1 did not reach 1B safely because of the successful Appeal by the Defense, therefore, the Offense does have an option: i) Take the result of the Play or ii) Negate the out by B1 with B1's At Bat continuing with a Ball added to her Ball/Strike count.

MTD, Sr.
Someone posted the NFHS rule interpretations that were just put out, but I cant find them again to copy them over here for you. No, the coach does not get the option, as has been stated once the batter/runner passed first base they are assumed to have touched it. When the appeal is made, that is a totally separate violation they are appealing and the out would stand.
Reply With Quote