Thread: diving
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 09:42am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
I made the correction for you. Only the NFHS rule book has leaping over a player, which does include "diving" when the fielder has the ball and is not prone. It is treated as a form of interference (dead ball, the runner is out).

USA/NCAA have jumping over a player as a permissible act.
Jumping/Hurdling is legal in LL but diving is considered a head first slide in majors and below and is illegal in those divisions and an out.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote