View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 08:48am
Insane Blue Insane Blue is offline
Call it as I see it.
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 317
Originally Posted by kennyc1 View Post
I'm a coach, not a ref. I want this to be obstruction, I never like to see defenders causing a collision.

That said, I thought the ruling is no obstruction if the defender is pulled into the runner's base path by the throw.
Fielder must have possession of the ball in order to legally block the runner's path otherwise it's Obstruction. To my knowledge only Baseball allows you to be in the act of receiving the ball while blocking the path of the runner.
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote