View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 14, 2019, 09:12am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
There is no option on this play (IP is nullified), as the batter-runner achieved first base safely. She just choose not to touch it, which is a separate violation in which she would be out on an appeal. As someone stated, a player is assumed to have touched the base when they pass the base, ergo, she touched first base.

This is a common misconception. The crew missed this exact play in a DIII regional (more than 5 years ago --- purposely vague to not implicate the crew, and let's just say this particular play got a "pass" because of the S-storm that was apart of that particular regional).

For those who think that missing the base absolves her of "achieving a base safely" -- how can violating one rule benefit any player?
Reply With Quote